top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Does AGE Matter When It Comes To LOVE?


Some would say that it’s old fashion. Some would say that it’s inappropriate.

I say that it is one of the most romantic things to not let an age difference come between two love birds.

My first love was actually 2 years younger than me. His parents had different views on it. His mother thought it was cute that her son’s first girlfriend liked an older girl. His father on the other hand was skeptical of the situation. We didn’t care too much about what other people said about it. It didn’t bother us. We were in love. That’s all that mattered.

Now 2 years doesn’t sound like much of an age difference but there’s so many that look up to Jay-Z and Beyonce or Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt let alone do they know that there’s about a 10 year age difference. Yes, the men are older. Either way though… They’re in love. They fell in love with their personalities, their success, their ambition; NOT their AGE.

I visited a friend once. I stayed with her for about a week or so. She was in her early 60’s. Her husband, however, was in his early 80’s. Both very healthy at that. She told me of how they met way back when she was in the entertainment industry and he was just working on a couple of sets himself. They've been together over 30 years. That didn’t really appeal to me too much. Now I’ll tell you what really did.

While staying with them, she would talk about him and all. She would even make jokes about his old age, how slow he is, or how he can’t make her do anything she didn’t want to do. She was willing to move to Louisiana and leave her dreams as an actress behind to be with him. Let me tell y’all, she was living the dream- photos and everything; amazing what I saw. He wanted to be closer to his family while raising their own. She had no idea that he had family down south; he never told her out of all the years they were together but she moved. Out of anything she could complain about him, she would always end it with, “God blessed with me with a good man”; “I got lucky”; “Hell, he don’t go to church but he treat me right”; or “He don’t ever cheat. These old ass women be wanting him but he tell ’em to leave him alone.” I just loved it all.

You see, even though they’re older… That doesn’t mean anything. Age is just a number.

I had liked this guy earlier this year. He was about 7 years older than me but right when I turned 21, THAT is when he wasn’t worried about age anymore. It was a huge turn off for me. I know he liked me; he liked my ambition, goals, and personality…besides my looks. My age, however, is what stopped him from saying anything. I grew distant from him because of that.

Now I’m not saying don’t go find yourself being a Jacob from Twilight and start imprinting on babies. No. Let’s be realistic here. Love is love. It’s the greatest gift God gave us.

Don’t Judge on a NUMBER. Let LOVE judge for you.

bottom of page